clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Harvard's 2012 Science & Cooking Lecture Series Lineup

Photo: Eater National

Harvard University's Science & Cooking lecture series has attracted, oh, pretty much the most famous chefs in the world, including José Andrés, Wylie Dufresne, David Chang, and Ferran Adrià, and Eater National reports that this season will be no exception. The series kicked off on Tuesday night with none other than Harold McGee, the New York Times journalist who wrote the seminal book On Food and Cooking: The Science and Lore of the Kitchen. The lectures are open to the public, provided you can get in, and will be livestreamed, posted to YouTube and available on iTunes. The talks are at 7PM on Mondays throughout the semester at the Harvard Science Center at 1 Oxford Street in Cambridge. Up next: Joan Roca and Jordi Roca of Spain's El Celler de Can Roca. Here's the full schedule.

Harvard's 2012 Cooking & Science Lecture Series Schedule

· Tuesday, September 4, 2012 — Dave Arnold (Food Arts), Harold McGee (New York Times)
· Monday, September 10, 2012 — Joan Roca and Jordi Roca (El Celler de Can Roca), Salvador Brugués (Sous-Vide Cuisine)
· Monday, September 17, 2012 — Bill Yosses (White House Pastry Chef)
· Monday, September 24, 2012 — Enric Rovira (Master Chocolatier)
· Monday, October 1, 2012 — Fina Puigdevall (Les Cols), Pere Planagumà (Les Cols), Paco Perez (Miramar)
· Monday, October 8, 2012 — Raül Balam Ruscalleda (Moments)
· Monday, October 15, 2012 — José Andrés (Think Food Group, minibar, Jaleo)
· Monday, October 22, 2012 — Wylie Dufresne (wd~50)
· Monday, October 29, 2012 — Dan Barber (Blue Hill Farm)
· Monday, November 5, 2012 — Joanne Chang (Flour Bakery)
· Monday, November 12, 2012 — Jack Bishop (Editorial Director at Cook's Illustrated and an Editor on The Science of Good Cooking), Dan Souza (Associate Editor of Cook's Illustrated)
· Monday, November 19, 2012 — Nathan Myhrvold (former Microsoft CTO; co-founder and CEO of Intellectual Ventures; and author of Modernist Cuisine: The Art and Science of Cooking)
· Monday, November 26, 2012 — David Chang (momofuku), Carles Tejedor (Via Veneto)
· Monday, December 3, 2012 — Ferran Adrià (elBulli Foundation)

· 2012 public lecture series [Harvard via Eater National]
· Here's the all-star schedule for Harvard's 2012 Cooking & Science series [EN]

Harvard Science Center

1 Oxford Street, Cambridge, MA

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Eater Boston newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter.